Saturday, July 30, 2011

2112 - Rush

YEAR: 1976

LABEL: Mercury

TRACK LISTING: Overture, The Temples of Syrinx, Discovery, Presentation, Oracle: The Dream, Soliloquy, Grand Finale, A Passage to Bangkok, The Twilight Zone, Lessons, Tears, Something for Nothing

IMPRESSIONS: Something of a manifesto showing the world (and their record label) exactly how Rush was going to carry on: on the own terms.

GUEST ARTISTS: Hugh Syme (mellotron on "Tears"). Syme is the first guest musician to appear on a Rush album

MY FAVOURITE TRACKS: The Temples of Syrinx, Discovery, A Passage to Bangkok, The Twilight Zone

FACT SHEET: 2112 is Rush's fourth album. After the immense failure of their previous album CARESS OF STEEL, Rush's record label insisted that they make a commercial album with no more "concept" songs. Being the contrary Marys they are, Rush said the hell with that and made a concept album the way they wanted to make it. Of course, the album became the band's biggest commercial success up to that time and ensured their continued tenure on their label. Side one features a 7-part song cycle featuring a future dystopia controlled by the Priests of the Temple of Syrinx. Drummer/lyricist Neal Peart acknowledges the influence of Ayn Rand's book "Anthem" on the plot. Side Two, however, is not part of the concept and features unrelated songs. Rush has 14 platinum and 24 gold records which puts them in fourth place behind the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Kiss as having the most gold and platinum albums by any band in history. And yes, they still aren't in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

No comments:

Post a Comment